Wisdom: Benefits and Malafits

Benefit: You can be easier on your self.

 As I have been in more situations,  bumped my head on the ceiling of my own abilities and, sadly, felt more pain, I have become much less judgemental.  This gives me the freedom to not judge myself.  This is why Jesus is quoted in the Gospel of John as saying that he did not come to judge or condemn (depending on translation). See the three verses below. 

John 3:17 – For God did not send the Son into the world to judge the world, but that the world might be saved through Him.

John 8:15 – You judge according to the flesh; I am not judging anyone.

John 12:47 – If anyone hears My sayings and does not keep them, I do not judge him; for I did not come to judge the world, but to save the world.

The other evangelists seem to quote Jesus being very demanding. Think of ‘if you even look on a woman to lust after her you have already committed adultery in your heart’, that is a very high bar.  How about ‘if you love me keep my commandments’. Who can do that? John was older that the other three Gospel writers and he chose to highlight different sayings of Jesus. I think the other Gospel writers didn’t repeat those sayings of Jesus because they didn’t understand them. By the time John wrote he understood what Jesus was saying.

Jesus lived among us; He was human in every way. He knows just how hard it is. So he doesn’t judge or condemn. He just wants to save. What a swell guy!

Malafits: You don’t get to judge other people.

When I was a puppy there were certain aspects of being a Christian that were relatively easy for me.  I figured all that goodness gave me the right to harshly judge others who were not as good as me. It felt great. It still feels great to think what rotten Christians the elders or the preacher must be on account of this or that.  When I let myself off the hook I have to let them off the hook also. Expletive Deleted.

This entry was posted in Bible Commentary, Living the Christian Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

