Why I’m a Christian

Forgiveness I can do

I suppose the theologically correct answer is that I was predestined to be a Christian. Ephesians 1:11 In him we were also chosen, having been predestined according to the plan of him who works out everything in conformity with the purpose of his will,  

I agree that the reason I’m a Christian has nothing to do with me. I was raised Christian. Based on what I know of myself I don’t think I ever would have converted to Christ. I’m way too stubborn. I think it takes a lot of guts for people to convert to Christ.

If you ask me for reasons why I’m a Christian I can give you reasons, but reasons why is not why.  Why is because God chose me to be one of his children for his own unfathomable purpose. Now for one of my primary reasons, Christianity I can do.

As far as I know, all religions involve some sort of bar to jump over.  They all have some sort of thou shalt and thou shalt not. The rules may be easy and just involve wearing funny hats or the rules m may be very difficult and involve whips and broken glass but they all have rules. If you are already pretty good at doing or not doing whatever the strictures of the religion require then you are ‘in like flint’ as my wife likes to say. What about the people who are endemically unsuited to a particular religion. If that religion is true then tough for them. I met a Moslem guy who confessed to me he really liked Vodka.  I could tell he felt bad about it. I wish I had had the time to tell him about the forgiveness religion but it is in God’s hands.

In my case, there are a lot of religions that I hope are not true. If a religion involves a funny hat I’m sure to lose it. If it involves meditation I’m sure I will never get my ADD’ed mind to focus long enough to get to heaven. If a religion involves fasting or tithing forget it.  But Christianity is about forgiveness; Forgiveness I can do.

This entry was posted in Why I'm a Christian and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

